the name game

i got a call today from a store where we wanted to purchase something for joe’s mom for hannukah (as in two weeks ago now) letting us know it had come in. it was supposed to be in the week of hannukah.

“hi, is caddy there?”

i repeated my name, pronouncing it correctly for her.

“oh well they had it spelled weird here.”

you know, maybe that’s how it’s *spelled*. i know i shouldn’t be offended by that, but i am. why do people think my name is spelled wrong just because it’s spelled differently? people even try to correct *me* when i spell my name for them. it’s always bothered me, and it probably always will.

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    sara Says:

    Imagine your last name being mine – Cruickshank. I get all sorts!!

  2. 2
    Laurel Says:

    I hear ya. I get “Laura” “Lauren” and “Laurie” out loud all the time and “Loral” “Laural” “Lorel” written. Dude, it’s spelled “Laurel.” It’s in the dictionary!

  3. 3
    Chas Says:

    Oh honey, I’ve been called everything in the book. I mostly get “Chasity”…which is close, but I’ve been called that and had my name spelled that way much more than I’ve actually had people spell it correctly. It’s very annoying.

  4. 4
    Casey Says:

    Tell me about it! While I personally love my name, it has brought a lot of grief throughout the years. People have also tried correcting me, as though I don’t know how to spell my own name!?!?

  5. 5
    nanette Says:

    I’m right there with ya!

    Signed,
    Nanette
    also known as
    Lynette
    Danette
    Jeanette
    Natalie
    and strangest of all – Linda


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

