goodbye thumper and frisky

it’s been a tough couple of days for my family. yesterday, my grandma had to put her dog, thumper, to sleep. he was about 10 years old and had a very aggressive throat cancer. he was no longer able to breathe through his nose and was trying to breath through his mouth around the cancer.

today, my family put randy’s cat, frisky, to sleep. frisky was 19 and had a long life for a cat. it was especially hard for randy because he and ryan were only three when we got frisky. i’ll never forget that day. we had gone to a movie and stopped in a fish store just a few doors down. there, in a cage, was a kitten we would adopt.

we named him frisky because, well, he was all over the place. he was a crazy cat. not long after we brought him home, we adopted sally, who had been dropped off at our vet’s office. frisky and sally acted as if they didn’t get along, but she later gave birth to his babies. frisky tried to deny them, but it was hard for him to when one was his spitting image. that kitten, obviously, was named frisky, jr.

my parents were hoping frisky could last until after the holidays. christmas was his favorite time. each year he would sit in front of the christmas tree for hours just staring at the lights and ornaments. on christmas eve, he was the only cat allowed in the room while we opened our presents. he loved it. he loved the wrapping paper. he just loved being around us.

boppa 2

frisky sitting on box 2

lately, frisky hadn’t been doing very well. he was incredibly thin. for the last few days he wasn’t able to eat or even move. the vet said today that he had kidney failure and would start to be in a lot of pain. so, randy and my dad decided to put him to sleep. after a long, good life he can now rest. goodbye frisky. christmas won’t be the same this year without you.

8 Comments »

  1. 1
    Lisanne Says:

    I am *so* sorry. Ugh ~ that’s terrible. Yes, definitely a difficult time for your family. Those are great photos. I’m sure that Christmas won’t be the same. Sending best wishes!

  2. 2
    Connie Says:

    Oh Cady, I’m so sorry about Thumper & Frisky 😦 It’s never a good time to have to go thru that experience but I’m sure it’s magnified right here @ the holidays. I’m sitting here literally in tears over your family’s losses. I know CHRISTmas won’t be the same, but try to hold onto your memories. Take care! (((hugs)))

  3. 3
    Chas Says:

    Oh so sorry! Losing an animal is terribly hard.

  4. 4
    michelle Says:

    so, so sad. my animals are like my kids so i can’t even imagine what that feels like!

  5. 5
    Laura Says:

    How sad to say goodbye to pets. Sometimes I miss my cat Sneakers around the holidays, remembering how she used to play with the ornaments and even climb into the tree.

    p.s. I love your new template!

  6. 6
    the wifey Says:

    how sad =( it sounds like frisky was full of personality; your family must have so many good memories of him. and poor thumper… that almost made me cry reading how he tried to breathe around the throat cancner

  7. 7
    Jessica Says:

    So sorry to hear about the cat & dog. We have two furbabies of our own, and I would be devastated if I lost either one.

  8. 8
    Felicia Says:

    I’m sorry about your family’s pet loss. They become such an important part of the family that it is so hard to lose them. I’m glad you have such happy memories with them.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

