making the switch

i have decided to change my arthritis meds from enbrel, a self-injection, to remicade, an infusion that will be done at my doctor’s office. the main reason is our new insurance. under it, i would have to pay 10 percent of the cost of enbrel. the medicine costs about $1,500, so i’d have to pay $150, a big jump from the $60 copay i have now. remicade is considered a diagnostic service and counts toward my deductible with no copay required. so, instead of close to $2,000 a year i’d pay only $500.

i also think my enbrel may not be working as well for me anymore. i’ve been in a lot of pain lately, and i’ve had a lot of *really* bad swelling. it sucks. you can’t even see my kneecaps anymore. blah.

so wish me luck. i’m kind of nervous about this, but i think it’ll be good.

7 Comments »

  1. 1
    Joe Says:

    You’ll be fine honey. Hopefully you’ll get to feeling better soon. I love you. And think what wondeful things you can buy me with the money you’ll be saving! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 2
    Felicia Says:

    Good luck! I hope this new medication works out better for you and your wallet.

  3. 3
    Stacey Says:

    I think Kate (Twist of Kate) has infusions for her arthritis, too. Talk to her about it; I’m sure she can put your mind at ease. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I echo what Joe says … only just think of all the shoes, outfits, etc. you will be able to buy YOURSELF with the money you’re going to save. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    AND you’ll feel much better, too!

  4. 4
    Laurel Says:

    Forget Joe, buy your blogging fans presents! (Just kidding, Joe.) I hope the new medication works–joint pain is the worst. Ouch!

  5. 5
    Connie Says:

    I hope the new meds. work better for you & that you get better results.

  6. 6
    Chas Says:

    That actually sounds like a good switch, Cady. Good luck with it!!

  7. 7
    Lisanne Says:

    Gosh. I am *so* sorry that you’re feeling so terrible. I really hope that you’ll feel better soon.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

