Protected: safety

i work a lot of late nights. i don’t live in a big city by any means, but our city does have its fair share of crime. i should know. i go through all the police reports every day. there have been murders just doors down from my office. so, i’m always on edge when i come and go late at night, after all the downtown shops have been locked up for the night and the sidewalks are empty. for that reason, i always park our company car in front when i come back from my meetings. i just don’t feel comfortable walking around from the back when it’s dark and no one else is around. there are plenty of places for someone to hide behind.

apparently, no one at my office cares about safety. i am now required to park in the back no matter how late i come back to the office (last night it was 10 p.m.). it doesn’t matter that i am a young woman who just doesn’t feel comfortable with it. the people who work early in the morning always are allowed to park out front when they arrive at 6 a.m., but i am not since i work late. it just really bothers me that my coworkers don’t care about my feelings of safety.

what would you guys do if you were in my situation? would you fight it?

7 Comments »

  1. 1
    jamie Says:

    fight it! trust your instincts on this one: your personal safety is very important. heck, create a report for them if you need to that shows how many crimes occur AT NIGHT in your town!

  2. 2
    janet Says:

    hell yes I would fight it. Does your company really want you to either A. feel unsafe coming to work or B. have something bad happen to you? NO! That is insane.

    Why do they care anyway?

  3. 3
    Lisa Says:

    I would fight it, or I would not stay late, or I would just park in the front! Can you take your own car instead of the company one? I would figure something out!!

  4. 4
    Laura Says:

    Yes, I absolutely would put a foot down. That is not worth messing with.

  5. 5

    I agree with the other ladies. I would be complaining BIG TIME.

  6. 6
    Chas Says:

    I would probably fight it but not hard enough to make my boss really mad at me, but that’s just the way I am with work. I don’t like to make waves. I don’t understand why they’d care if you park out front if it’s late anyway. If they refuse you, then I’d probably get a weapon of some sort…at least some pepper spray.

  7. 7
    Stacey Says:

    I agree with Chas. You don’t want to make your boss mad, but at the same time they need to understand your reasoning behind parking in the front. If they still insist that you park in the back lot, buy that pepper spray and have it in your hand every night when you leave work.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

