let it rain

it rained here slightly this morning. yay! i can’t remember the last time it rained and, with the extreme drought we’re in, rain is a welcome sight. our outdoor watering ban recently was changed to prohibit all outdoor watering. i talked to our city’s water department director a week or so ago, and he said that cobb county, a large county just south of us, is expected to run out of water by january if we don’t start seeing some regular, steady rain, as are other municipalities that get water out of our lake. in athens-clarke county, where the university of georgia is located, water is expected to start being rationed by thanksgiving and run out by christmas if the lack of rain continues.

the army corps of engineers was releasing water from our lake to alabama, yet they aren’t under any watering restrictions. that really bothers me when we are looking at the possibility of running out of water, and they are taking our water and letting their residents use it however they please.

we just can’t catch a break here. besides the water issues, it’s the middle of october and it’s still in the upper-70s to low-80s here. will fall ever come?

10 Comments »

  1. 1
    Michelle Says:

    i wish i could send some of our rain your way. it’s been gloomy for 3 days – but pretty much mirrors my mood so i don’t mind so much.

  2. 2
    sara Says:

    yeah the drought is sucking BIG TIME. And I am with you, it is raining here a little and I couldn’t be happier!!

  3. 3
    Connie Says:

    I agree 100% w this post! I was *so* happy this morning when I heard it raining outside & was *SO* disappointed when I heard it stop ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I live 20 minutes from Athens so this *really* hits very close! My hubby & I were talking about this very subject as we watched the news last nite (after I got the boys in bed). I told him it frustrates me to *no* end that these other states (he said there’s states other than Alabama) “borrow” our water & there’s no restriction plans in place. They (the other states) should be conserving just like we are here in GA, you know?!? I pray *EVERY* day that we’ll get lots of rain soon to accomodate the lowering water levels. I don’t wish for flood-like levels by any means~just enough to bring the lake levels back to normal. Some people just don’t realize just *how* much we depend on water & the multiple uses we depend on it for every day! Sorry, didn’t mean to leave a “book” for a comment ๐Ÿ™‚

    *Hey, I also wanted to ask if it’s ok if I add you to my blogroll?

  4. 4
    Connie Says:

    Sorry, I just wanted to leave another comment so I could change the automatic info. that’s supplied when you leave a comment. I’ve changed my blog name & url recently & just wanted it to be correct on here ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5
    Stacey Says:

    I’m so thankful that we’ve got the Tennessee River right in our backyard up here in Chattanooga. Otherwise, we’d but in the same situation. I wish it would rain for several days, but October is notoriously dry. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. 6
    Laurel Says:

    Uff–it’s not that warm in NYC, but it’s still not fall enough for me!

  7. 7
    k Says:

    could you send me the password again – i keep forgetting or deleting the emails it is in or you change it or something… anyway – i don’t have it.

    oh – and i think i am going to start blogging again soon!

  8. 8

    hi cady,
    would love the password if you want to share?
    not sure if this is even appropriate to ask, I’m such a newbie!
    Just let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. 9
    Connie Says:

    We’re getting rain ๐Ÿ™‚ YIPPEE!! Have a wonderful weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. 10
    Marge Says:

    Alright Cady – I’m a regular lurker on your blog and the suspense of wondering what’s in your pw-protected posts is killing me! Pretty please share your password!!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

