it’s my blog and i’ll complain if i want to

i am so.freakin.tired of hurting. so tired. i went off my enbrel earlier this year in preparation for ttc. i can’t remember how long i’ve been off it, but it seems like an eternity. it really wasn’t too bad until just this week. i remember thinking, with this little bit of knee pain i can totally handle being off my enbrel. i was so naive. i now have pain in my fingers, wrists, elbows, shoulders, toes and ankles. basically every single joint in my body is aching. people, we’re talking pain so bad i could barely pump gas. stupid arthritis.

so, i called my doctor. my new doctor, that is. my former rheumatologist left the practice last month. the receptionist told me my appointment is on october 10. can we move it up? no. she’s booked solid. of course. i left a message for her nurse *before* 4 p.m., which means it is *supposed* to be returned the same day. did i hear from her? no.

i just placed an after hours call to my new doctor. i’m sure she can’t put me back on my enbrel (which my obgyn says is fine to take when ttc and during pregnancy, and shouldn’t *he* know what medicines are ok to take when pregnant?) or on humira, which is what i think my old doctor wanted to put me on, but she could at least give me a prescription for prednisone. oh, how i long for that lovely steroid that made me swell and gain weight. i’ll be swollen but at least i’ll be semi-pain-free.

and now i am done with my little pity-party. 🙂

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Lindsey Says:

    My word verification is “easy.” Stop calling me names.

    Seriously though, I hope you feel better soon. You are totally deserving of that pity party!!! I would be having one too!

  2. 2
    Lisanne Says:

    Man, I just can’t imagine feeling that way all the time. That must stink royally. 😦 I just got over a bout with a flu bug or something, and my entire body ached ~ I can’t imagine feeling that way *all* the time. 😦 Do they know why you have this arthritis in the first place ~ at such a young age? Is it hereditary? Anyway, I hope that you’re able to go on *some* kind of medicine that will help. Hugs! Can you take a hot bath to temporarily ease some of the pain?

  3. 3
    Holly Says:

    My friend Abby went through that. The good news is her arthritis went completely into remission once she finally got prego. I wil lbe praying for you. It took them 3 years of trying but they have a happy little boy now.

    Hope all is well.

  4. 4
    Abby Says:

    My friend Holly is the above message, but I totally and completely understand. I was on prednisone for four years before I even let my doctor prescribe me with Enbrel and that was after we had decided to adopt. I got pregnant while on Enbrel and my Mitchell is completely normal. I can answer any questions you may have.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

