Protected: the story

when joe proposed to me, he gave me his grandmother’s engagement ring. he wanted me to have it since it’s a family heirloom and he had just lost his job (not his fault and a story for an entirely different post), which i understood.

the ring is about 60 years old and is pretty, but the setting is such that you can barely see the diamond. you can’t see the side diamonds at all. i was fine with that. what i wasn’t fine with was that it was the same ring he had given his ex-fiancee. i knew that when he proposed, but i didn’t want to make an issue of it because i knew he was stressed out as it was. but, every time i looked at the ring i thought of julia wearing it. it was just really, really weird for me and honestly made me feel like i was wearing someone else’s leftovers. it just bothered me.

joe had been wanting to get me a new one because he wanted me to have one of my own. i think the fact that it had been julia’s bothered him too. i don’t know. i didn’t say anything to him about it. i didn’t want to stress him out at all, even though i knew he was planning it sometime down the road. i just didn’t know that when we went in to look it would be then.

it’s nice to have something now that doesn’t have any negative memories associated with it. that and it matches my wedding band perfectly, which is a nice bonus. 🙂

would you all feel the same way?

11 Comments »

  1. 1
    janet Says:

    awww, it’s sweet. I’m glad he made you happy (happier! I mean)

  2. 2
    Lisa Says:

    Ahhh It was a simple spelling error! I think the new ring is so perdy!

  3. 3
    Red Says:

    I think it’s beautiful, and super sweet of him to “Fix” things.

  4. 4
    stacey Says:

    So, so pretty! And I think just about any girl would have felt the way you did. Patience is a virtue, and it paid off for you!

  5. 5
    Chas Says:

    As much as I hate to admit it, I think I would have felt the same way. I am such a penny pincher, and I’d hate to spend the kind of money it takes to purchase an engagement ring. I’d probably tell myself that it’s just a ring, but in the end I’d be bothered by having a ring that had once belonged to my husband’s ex-fiance. I’m glad you got the ring you wanted!

  6. 6

    I would’ve definitely felt the same way. DEFINITELY. I’m glad it all worked out in the end, now you can make your OWN memories with this ring!

  7. 7
    Jessica Says:

    I totally agree!! You should absolutely love the ring that is going to be on your finger every day for the rest of your life. Now I want to see a pic of your new ring with your wedding band. Will you post one for me, please?

  8. 8
    jamie Says:

    i am very sentimental about stuff like that… we have friends who trade their rings in every few years for bigger diamonds and i can never get why they do that. yours, however, was a different situation, and i would have felt exactly as you did. i’m so glad that he bought such a beautiful ring for you and that you are happy with the ring that he chose. no one else has ever worn it and it is all yours to build memories on.

  9. 9
    Laurel Says:

    I would totally have felt the same way about a ring that his ex wore. But, Joe totally made it up to you, so it’s completely worth it! Bling, bling!

  10. 10
    Sara Says:

    I’ve felt the same way as it was part of our story as well. I just had the diamond remounted into a necklace. I’m now having it remounted into a ring, 23 years later…

  11. 11
    Sara Says:

    I know you had told me this story before and as I said I am with you – you want something of your own to cherish and to pass on one day I’m sure. I am so excited for your new ring you lucky girl!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

