old habits

everytime i open the cabinet to the right of my sink i feel like i’m back at my parents’ house. the aroma of coffee is the same smell that hits my nose when i open the cabinet to the right of my parents’ stove. my mom has always kept her peanut butter, spices, coffee and tea in that cabinet. as i was unpacking our new kitchen, i realized that i was putting the exact same items in my cabinet. it just seemed like the right place for them. i’m now trying to wean joe off of the idea that peanut butter is kept in the pantry!

it’s funny how habits we pick up as kids stay with us and how we end up doing some things the same way our parents did. what are some things you picked up from your parents?

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    Laura Says:

    Pretty much everything I do comes from my mom. She and I are SO much alike.

    I wish I had a cabinet for spices, tea, or anything else. ALL of our food has to go in the pantry. We have very little cabinet space!

  2. 2
    the wifey Says:

    oh my gosh, my kitchen is organized exactly like my mom’s kitchen, too! only, mine is about 1/3 of the size of my mom’s =) oh, and my hubby puts cereal boxes on top of the frig just like his mom!

  3. 3
    Laura Says:

    That is too funny, but I organize things like my mom, too. And of course the things I eat or different foods I put together are just like mom. No sugar cereal for breakfast. Peanut butter and jelly on tortillas. Only whole wheat bread.period. But there’s no one I’d rather imitate.

  4. 4
    Lisanne Says:

    Isn’t that funny? I think that when you move into a new home, the things that you use on a regular basis just kind of “come to the surface.” I find myself doing a lot of things that my parents always do, too! πŸ™‚ We keep our peanut butter in the pantry. πŸ™‚ haha … my anti-spam word is “system.” LOL! πŸ™‚

  5. 5
    Kjersten Says:

    One thing I’m very glad I *didn’t* pick up from my mom: storing syrup in the fridge! Now that I know the joys of hot syrup, I am horrified that we had ice-cold syrup on our pancakes growing up. Funny thing is, she doesn’t even know why she does it… probably got it from her mom! πŸ™‚


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

