droughts and decks

we’re in a drought here in georgia. in my county, we’re in an extreme drought, which means we can only water three days a week (days determined by whether you are an odd or even address) from midnight until 10 a.m. that’s not so great for my grass and azaleas because we always forget (by we i mean i because joe leave early for work).

even thought it’s rough being in a drought, joe figured it would be a great time to stain our deck. we hadn’t had rain in a couple weeks, so he set out. he got about halfway done the first day and planned to finish the next.

then came the rain. that was at least a month ago, and it hasn’t stopped raining long enough for the deck to dry out so joe can finish it. now, the wood is starting to mildew (ew!), and if it ever does stop raining, we’ll have to pressure wash it before we can finish staining (by we i mean joe). and, it hasn’t even impacted our drought situation. sigh.

as much as i hate to say it, i really, really wish it would stop raining for a few days. but, with rain in the forecast through at least saturday, there is no end in sight.

7 Comments »

  1. 1
    Sara Says:

    “When it rains, it pours!” Go figure!! Our grass has finally perked up, but I’m with you – bring on the sun (atleast on the weekends!!)

  2. 2
    Laurel Says:

    The heavens opened up on me while I was running this morning. I was not pleased!

    You’ll have to bring Joe some lemonade when he’s redoing the deck.

  3. 3
    Chas Says:

    I KNOW!! I was actually kind of enjoying the drought…got to go to the pool anytime I wanted. Now it’s always raining or looks like it could at any time, so I haven’t been able to go. BOOO!!

  4. 4
    Joe Says:

    Will this work other ways too? Since I didn’t want it to rain and it did, maybe if I say I hope I don’t get a million dollars tomorrow…quick, check the mail!

  5. 5
    Laura Says:

    I can’t remember a time when we could water more than two days a week. But it’s not so much that as the 4% humidity that doesn’t allow much of anything to grow. 🙂 You can send rain over any time you’d like.

  6. 6
    the wifey Says:

    oh man, that stinks. we had some major thunderstorms down here yesterday, but today it is all sun and heat. wish i could send it your way!

  7. 7
    Bink Says:

    I must admit, I’m a lurker…. But I just have to comment on this post! I live in GA, too. And while all this rain is good for the drought *in theory*, my husband has been trying to paint our new shed for over three weeks! He is only about half-way finished. And I have to say, it looks horrible!! The primer is bright white…. it totally looks like someone vandalized our shed and we are sloppily trying to cover it up with paint. We also need it to dry up so we (he…) can finish already!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

