when it rains, it pours

it was bright, sunshiney and warm when i left for work this afternoon, so i wore my cute white, linen shirt.

mother nature decided it was a great day to play a cruel, cruel joke on me. i was covering an airport authority meeting this afternoon when i heard the sound i dreaded most: thunder. i left a little early to get back for my news (and because i wasn’t feeling well at all), and i could see the rain pouring down outside. the girl at the front desk at the city annex building laughed when she saw i was trying to leave, though i could tell she was feeling for me.

i made a run for it. i was parked in the back. by the time i got to my car, you could see my skin through my shirt. luckily, i was wearing a camisole that helped. i have never been so wet before! one of my coworkers brought a station t-shirt for me to wear, but i had a comfy sweater in the car that i threw on over my camisole, and i felt a little bit better.

if only the rain could have held off for 10 more minutes. thanks a lot, mother nature.

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Liz Says:

    Oh, I love thunderstorms since we never, ever get them in California. I miss them so much. Not that that will make you feel better that you got poured on!

  2. 2
    Lisanne Says:

    Thank goodness you had a warm sweater in the back of your car! That’s planning ahead! 🙂 Sorry you’re not feeling well. Everything OK? You remind me *so* much of myself several years ago. I used to cover airport meetings! hehe 🙂

  3. 3
    Sara Says:

    Atleast it wasn’t freezing cold outside, that’s the worst. Being wet and it being like 20 degrees outside!

  4. 4
    cady Says:

    liz: i love them too, only i’d rather be home and enjoying them!
    lisanne: airport meetings are the worst. they’re so boring! but at least i can squeeze a story or two out.
    sara: it was freezing cold in the office though! luckily, my sweater was warm. 🙂


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

