tv time

i was lucky enough to snag the tv remote when i got home from work last night. joe was watching an atlanta thrashers game and, since hockey really isn’t at the top of my list of much-watch television, i switched the channel to abc to see if the bachelor was starting.

that threw joe into a frenzy. apparantly, i changed the channel right as one of the thrashers players was about to shoot a goal. “are you crazy?” joe asked. “what are you doing?”

i turned it back and, lucky for me, he hadn’t scored. they did, though, score before the bachelor began.

“it’s only a game,” i said.

the look i received from my husband was one i’ve never seen before. and then came the lecture. “don’t you ever say that again. it’s *not* just a game. how can you even think that?”

because to me it is. i can watch a game and if my team loses, shrug and say, “they’ll win it next time.” for joe, sports is life. if his team loses, he will be in a bad mood for a while.

so now i’ve learned not what to say when joe is watching sports. but that doesn’t mean i’ll stop doing it.

7 Comments »

  1. 1
    Lisanne Says:

    LOL!!! πŸ™‚ I’ve said that before, too … the “It’s just a game!” thing. That didn’t go over very well. πŸ˜€ My husband isn’t a *huge* sports fan, though … I mean, he loves sports, but he’s not overzealous about it. We watch all Indiana teams, of course.

  2. 2
    Liz Says:

    Thankfully, poker is the only thing I have to worry about with my husband. He’s not into watching sports on tv at all. I’m usually fighting with him about my sitcoms vs. his sci-fi or cnn.

  3. 3
    Joe Says:

    Not just a game!! Grrrrrrrrr….

  4. 4
    cady Says:

    hehe…it’s so much fun to get him riled up. next plan: say “it’s just a game” when he’s watching the braves lose. πŸ˜‰ btw…just so you all know, i’m just as big a sports fan as he. lucky him, huh?

  5. 5
    Tara Says:

    Well, even if it was “just a game,” I’d have to say I’d rather watch hockey than “The Bachelor.” πŸ™‚

  6. 6
    Lisa Says:

    Lol… DON’T stop doing it. Now that you know how to get under his skin, that could be useful. πŸ™‚

  7. 7
    Hannah Says:

    I tell my husband the same thing when he watches stupid stuff on the Sci-fi channel!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

