playing catch up

i have so much to do, i don’t even know where to begin. i really could have used the rest of the week off work to catch up from the trip. i have lots of laundry to fold, pictures from the honeymoon to edit, and the whole apartment to straighten up and clean. i’ve done most of my thank you notes, and joe is finishing the rest for me. he’s such a good help. last night he cleaned the kitchen for me, and he promised to do the bathroom (one of the chores i *hate*). good husband!

speaking of joe, it’s taken me a while to get used to calling him my husband and hearing him referred to as such. after we arrived at our hotel after the wedding, the front desk clerk called to tell me my husband had dropped his tux tie in the parking lot. i almost corrected him and called joe my fiance. i’m getting more and more used to this change slowly but surely.

i’m also still getting used to having a new name. when i go on the air at 5 p.m., i conciously have to make sure i say “schulman” instead of my maiden name. yesterday, i caught myself typing my maiden name on several of my stories. i had that name for 26 years, so i’m sure it’ll take me more than 12 days to get used to a new one.

there was a girl on our plane heading back to atlanta who was reading a bridal magazine with her fiance. joe and i both saw them, and it made me kind of wistful. i really enjoyed being a bride and planning my wedding, and now that’s over. don’t get me wrong, i love being married. i just miss the planning and anticipation.

and now, my laundry is calling to me.

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    lisanne Says:

    After our wedding, I had *serious* post-wedding blues. It was awful. The same thing happened after having Lucas. So if you start feeling that way, don’t worry ~ it’s normal. And feel free to talk with me about it at any time. I remember it taking a while to get used to my new last name! It was fun going to the SS office and changing it. And at our wedding reception, my mom called me “Mrs. Jensen.” I thought that she was talking to someone else, LOL!

  2. 2
    cady Says:

    my mom called me the day after just to say “hi mrs. schulman.” for the first few times i talked to them after the wedding they would do that. hehe.

  3. 3
    Liz Says:

    Don’t worry, you’ll get used to it. The weirdest thing for me was when I changed my work email and saw our very similar email addresses since now our emails both start with edespins@… So weird!

  4. 4
    Chas Says:

    I know what you mean about the anticipation leading up to a big event like a wedding and then feeling like What the heck do I think about now?. That will go away though…and then you’ll do something else huge like buy a house or have a baby, and it’ll come back.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

