holiday meme

holiday getting to know me!
stolen from jen
welcome to the 2005 holiday edition of getting to know your friends!

here we go!

1. egg nog or hot chocolate? hot chocolate. i hate eggs. or anything with the word egg in it for that matter. hehe.

2. does santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? puts them under the tree. the elves wrap them.

3. colored lights on tree/house or white? white. i don’t like colored lights as much.

4. do you hang mistletoe? no. would i if i had any? probably.

5. when do you put your decorations up? usually during the first couple weeks of december. we put up the tree last weekend, and i put up the decorations yesterday.

6. what is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)? mashed potatoes.

7. favorite holiday memory as a child? i love the holidays every year, but the year my parents got me a car stands out.

8. when and how did you learn the truth about santa? my mom told me, but i don’t remember how old i was. then i got in trouble for telling my little brothers.

9. do you open a gift on christmas eve? we always open presents on christmas eve. it’s our tradition. we go to the christmas eve service at church, come home and eat chow mein for dinner (let me tell you, the parents and grandparents eat sloooow), my grandpa reads the christmas story and then we open presents. on christmas day we get our stockings. we still have stockings even though none of us live at home. that’s kind of cool.

10. what kind of cookies does santa get set out for him? when i was little it was chocolate chip cookies.

11. snow! love it or dread it? love it. i wish it snowed here in georgia.

12. can you ice skate? yes but i’m not that great at it. i’m pretty sucky at it actually.

13. do you remember your favorite gift? my first cd player, my car..those stand out to me. and of course the harry and david’s gift box my aunt and uncle send me. i love that store.

14. what’s the most important thing about the holidays for you? being with my family and having our traditions. i love it. it’s the best time of the year for me.

15. what is your favorite holiday dessert? apple pie. yum!

16. what is your favorite holiday tradition? the meal. we have the same thing at thanksgiving and christmas, and, as i told joe, it’s my favorite meal of the year: vegetarian turkey slices filled with stuffing and baked, mashed potatoes, corn, broccoli with cheese (which i don’t eat. heh), rolls, brussel sprouts for my dad, wild rice with vegetarian chicken. yum. i’m getting hungry just thinking about it!

another tradition is that i put the angel on top of my parents’ tree. i’ve done it every year since i was a child, and i did it friday night for them. it’s much harder getting up on that wobbly stool now though. heh. but i love that they still save it for me to do.

17. what tops your tree? i have a white star on the top of my tree. i love it.

18. which do you prefer giving or receiving? i obviously love getting gifts (who doesn’t!) but i love giving them more. i always want mine opened first because i just can’t wait to see my family’s reactions.

19. what is your favorite christmas carol? o holy night, oh come all ye faithful

20. candy canes! yuck or yum? i love the fruit flavored ones, hate the peppermint ones. 🙂

comment and let me know if you do this too!

Leave a Reply

