no more blood

my arm hurts.

that may be because it took about 15 minutes for the nurse at my rheumatologist’s office to draw my blood yesterday. usually it flows right into the tubes. yesterday, she had to push on my arm to coax the blood out.

“looks like this vein is drying up,” she said to me.

not so funny. really. it’s not.

“so what, my arm’s going to fall off now from lack of blood?” i replied.

she laughed. i didn’t.

my lab has never been so painful. for five years they’ve used the same vein in the same arm. never had a problem. i thought blood just kept replenishing itself.

oh well. next time we’ll be using the other arm. i don’t care if it isn’t as convenient for them.

Leave a Reply

